Gluten free life | Жизнь без глютена

Recepies of dishes and the way of life

Attention to the soy sauce

From the moment I was informed that I have gluten intolerance and started a gluten free diet – lot’s of times I found that those foods/dishes that I continue to eat (and not expecting anything bad from them) contain in their composition – wheat!

One of this mistakes was the soy sauce. For many months after starting the diet I continued eating my favorite rolls and dip them in the sauce. I did not look through the ingredients because the sauce is SOY and seems that it has nothing to do with wheat. But at some point my attention was  drawn to the ingredients of the sauce and it turned out that almost all soy sauces contain wheat! My disappointment was boundless… Besides rolls, this sauce is often added in restaurants in a various rice dishes, vegetables, fish and other dishes.

In this regard, if you go to cafes/restaurants/guests, in addition to the usual and clear bread, flour, pasta and other gluten stuff – pay attention to the presence of soy sauce in the dishes. These meals shouldn’t be eaten. There is practically no chance that your friends or any restaurant is using  gluten free sauce.

Fortunately for the home cooking you can buy special gluten free sauce!

I found 3 gluten free soy sauces: Kikkoman Tamari, Bragg Liquid Aminos and Pearl River Bridge Gluten Free.

The first 2 of them, unfortunately, I could not find in retail stores (in Russia). But they can be ordered online, for example you can order Bragg Liquid Aminos sauce on the website And the sauce Kikkoman was sold, for example, on Tenerife, in the island’s capital – Santa Cruz (probably in many other places, I write about places where I found it). As for the last of the sauce, I found it in the Internet shops of Ekaterinburg and Moscow.

So how this sauces are looks like:

Kikkoman Tamari
soy sause gluten free
Bragg Liquid Aminos
soy sauce gluten free 2
Pearl River Bridge Gluten Free